Daily Archives: October 6, 2010

UPDATED: Major Funding for Science Friday Ends; What will happen next?

It is hard to imagine a world without science Friday.

But it is easy to image a world in which our collective respect for the National Science Foundation, who is pulling their funding for the program, is seriously compromised. Also, it is easy to imagine a world in which we do NOT renew our memberships to NPR because they are ALSO pulling funding.

UPDATE: Ira Flatow, host of Science Friday, has added a comment below which you should read.

As you know, I tend to be bit radical in these areas. I may very well shift my personal donation to Sci Fri despite Ira’s suggestion, or perhaps split the donation between the two, for a year, in order to make the point. Also, as soon as I can find out to whom a letter should be addressed at NSF I’ll let you know.

Also, since NSF funding is set by the congress, a letter to your members of congress would be helpful.

Here’s the word from Ira Flatow:
Continue reading UPDATED: Major Funding for Science Friday Ends; What will happen next?

Richard Heck, Ei-ichi Negishi and Akira Suzuki share Chemistry Nobel

The three are organic chemists, and each independently came up with new ways to make complex organic molecules, in this case, carbon-to-carbon bonds.

The chemical processes are now used worldwide in commercial production of pharmaceuticals, including potential cancer drugs. The molecules are also used to make electronics, LEDs, and extremely thin motors, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said.


Please don’t forget

Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
John Barrasso (R-WY)
Kit Bond (R-MO)
Sam Brownback (R-KS)
Jim Bunning (R-KY)
Richard Burr (R-NC)
Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)
Tom Coburn (R-OK)
Thad Cochran (R-MS)
John Cornyn (R-TX)
Bob Corker (R-TN)
Mike Crapo (R-ID)
Jim DeMint (R-SC)
John Ensign (R-NV)
Mike Enzi (R-WY)
Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
Judd Gregg (R-NH)
Jim Inhofe (R-OK)
Johnny Isakson (R-GA)
Mike Johanns (R-NE)
Jon Kyl (R-AZ)
John McCain (R-AZ)
Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
James Risch (R-ID)
Pat Roberts (R-KS)
Jeff Sessions (R-AL)
Richard Shelby (R-AL)
John Thune (R-SD)
David Vitter (R-LA)
Roger Wicker (R-MS)